‘Oh my god!’ Umpire gets suspended over TERRIBLE game-ending third strike call

The Southland Conference, a collegiate athletic conference, has reportedly suspended an umpire for making what’s been described as an “egregious third strike call” that some say may have been motivated by revenge.

The strike call happened during a game Friday between the Mississippi Valley State Delta Devils and the New Orleans Privateers.

Mississippi Valley State left fielder Davon Mims was at the plate making a last-minute attempt to save his team, which was losing 3-7 at the time, when he sustained a “strike-two call that he does not agree with,” according to Yardbarker.

“Then on the next pitch, the home plate umpire, who may have felt disrespected and shown up by the hitter, call[ed] a pitch that pretty much landed in the opposite batter’s box as the game-ending third strike,” the sports news site reported.

“The call was so bad that the New Orleans catch actually had to try to place peacekeeper to hold Mims back from going after the umpire.”


Umpire Reggie Drummer’s actions prompted massive backlash, which in turn eventually led to conference officials releasing a statement announcing he’s been suspended.

“The Southland Conference is committed to promoting and enforcing the principles and standards of good sporting conduct in connection with all Conference activities involving our member institutions, including competition against non-conference opponents. The Conference expects this conduct to be upheld by all game participants,” the statement reads.

“After a thorough review of the New Orleans and Mississippi Valley State baseball contest on March 10, 2023, the Southland Conference confirmed the home plate umpire’s conduct and actions were deemed detrimental to the Conference and in violation of Section 3 Character and Conduct of the CCA Mechanics Manual for Baseball,” it continues.

The statement concludes with officials confirming that “the umpire has been removed from the series and has been suspended indefinitely from Southland
Conference baseball games.”


Drummer’s strike call is now being called one of the worst strike calls in baseball history. Looking back, there have been many other examples of bad or missed calls throughout the sport’s history.

For example, during the 1991 World Series game between the Atlanta Braves and Minnesota Twins, umpire Drew Coble reportedly missed a call that could have conceivably changed the whole game.

“Ron Gant of the Braves hit a single and rounded first base. A surprise throw to first from pitcher Kevin Tapani made him hastily retreat, and he made it back safely but awkwardly. When first baseman Kent Hrbek caught the ball, he pushed Gant off of the base by ‘tagging’ him. This led to Coble calling Gant out,” according to Bleacher Report.

“What really happened was that Hrbek, the bigger man, pushed Gant off illegally, and the fans and announcers took notice, but Coble just botched the call. The game was eventually won by the Twins 3-2, and the Braves lost in seven games in a series that had five games decided by one run. Coble may have accidentally cost the Braves the World Series by making that call,” Bleacher Report reported.

As for the worst-ever call, it’s considered to be what happened during Game 6 of the 1985 World Series.

“The St. Louis Cardinals could taste victory in the series, leading 3-2 and winning the game 1-0 in the ninth inning. Three outs away from being crowned World Champions, however, the Kansas City Royals leadoff hitter Jorge Orta hit a slow roller up the first base line to Jack Clark, who threw to pitcher Todd Worrell, who easily retired Orta,” Bleacher Report notes.

Yet Orta was reportedly ruled safe by first base umpire Don Denkinger, despite being  reportedly beaten to the “bag” by what’s been described as “about a full step.”

“The Cardinals became disgruntled by the call, and they became sloppy. Later in the inning, with runners on first and second, a passed ball allowed two runners to get into scoring position, and the Cardinals intentionally walked the next batter to load the bases,” according to Bleacher Report.

“The Royals pinch-hitter Dane Lorg hit a long single to drive home the tying and winning runs with two outs and bases loaded in the ninth. The Cardinals should have been celebrating a World Series victory at this point, but because of Denkinger, the team was forced to play a Game 7.”

Sadly, Game 7 turned out to be a problem for the Cardinals.

“Tempers built up, and with Denkinger umpiring from behind home plate, the Cardinals were unnerved. The Redbirds eventually lost the game 11-0, and their starting pitcher said it was because having Denkinger behind the plate was so distracting,” according to Bleacher Report.

“Denkinger cost the Cardinals the 1985 World Series because of a call similar to that of Jim Joyce in Armando Galarraga’s perfect game, but this call was easier to make correctly.”


If you are fed up with letting radical big tech execs, phony fact-checkers, tyrannical liberals and a lying mainstream media have unprecedented power over your news please consider making a donation to American Wire News to help us fight them.

Thank you for your donation!
Vivek Saxena


We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.

Latest Articles