Nine Republican ‘traitors’ vote with Dems to avoid government shutdown

On Wednesday, a bill was passed to continue to fund the government through December 23 as America once again faces a shutdown.

The House of Representatives passed the funding 224-201, with nine members of the GOP crossing the aisle to vote with the majority of Democrats. Who are the Republicans that defied the will of their party?

  • Liz Cheney from Wyoming
  • Brian Fitzpatrick from Pennsylvania
  • Anthony Gonzalez from Ohio
  • Jamie Herrera Beutler from Washington
  • Chris Jacobs from New York
  • John Katko from New York
  • Adam Kinzinger from Illinois
  • Fred Upton from Michigan
  • Steve Womack from Arkansas


Seven of the nine Republicans who voted for the bill either lost their re-election bids (Cheney and Herrera Beutler) or did not run for re-election (Upton, Kinzinger, Katko, Jacobs, and Gonzalez.)

House Minority Whip Steve Scalice, R-La., called for the House GOP to reject the funding bill, calling it an “attempt to buy additional time for a massive lame-duck spending bill in which House Republicans have had no seat at the negotiating table.”

Social media users were quick to condemn the nine:


If you are fed up with letting radical big tech execs, phony fact-checkers, tyrannical liberals and a lying mainstream media have unprecedented power over your news please consider making a donation to American Wire News to help us fight them.

Thank you for your donation!
Sierra Marlee


We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.

Latest Articles